What’s On

imag2828

Local events we are aware of are listed below, generally for the month ahead.  You can also use Labour’s national search facility to find any Labour Party events which have been notified to the Party, or contact your Branch to find out what’s going on in your immediate neighbourhood.  If you want more information, call our Brighton office on 01273 806773 option 3.  The office is staffed daily.  If you want to talk to volunteers from Pavilion, best to call on Tuesdays or Wednesdays.

 

2.30pm, Monday 21 May – Peter Tarshis from HEG Branch   is leading a guided walk around Brighton centre looking at the town’s social history, industry and housing with maybe a murder or two thrown in. The walk will take approximately two (2) hours and does involve some hills – well, this is Brighton!  Meet outside Brighton Museum at 2.30pm and finish back at Pavilion Gardens Café for optional refreshments.  

8pm, Tuesday 22 MayPreston Park Labour members’ meeting at The Chimney House, Upper Hamilton Road.

7.30pm, Wednesday 23 May – HEG Branch  members’ meeting with discussion, at Church of the Annunciation, Washington Street.  Paul Williams from ACORN tenants’ rights pressure group will be the guest speaker.

7pm – 9pm, Tuesday 29 May – B&H BAME Labour Forum  at 99 Church Road, Hove BN3.  Light refreshments available.

7.30pm, Wednesday 30 May – Pavilion NHS Forum meets to discuss NHS funding, resisting Tory privatisation and campaigning to save our NHS at Coachwerks, 19A Hollingdean Terrace, Brighton BN1 7HB

7.30pm, Thursday 31 MayPatcham Labour members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

Saturday 2 June – Pavilion Labour June Campaign Day

10.30am, Saturday 2 JuneSPNL Branch members’ meeting.

10.15am – 5.30pm, Sunday 3 June Help write Labour’s next manifestoPavilion Labour Policy Forum at Community Base, joined in the morning by National Policy Forum representative Carol Hayton, who will lead our discussion of housing, local government and transport.  In addition, the morning session (10.30am – 1.30pm) will also cover energy, environment and culture.  During the afternoon session (2.15pm – 5.15pm) we shall discuss policy on work, pensions & equalities plus economy, business and trade.

7.30pm, Thursday 7 JuneRegency Labour members’ meeting.

10am, Saturday 9 June – Pavilion Labour General Committee meeting at the Friends’ Meeting House, with a report from the NUT’s recent delegation visit to the West Bank, including a slide show.  Delegates should check meeting papers for the exact timings of this meeting, but will be able to register from 9.45am.

7.45pm, Wednesday 13 JunePreston Park Labour members’ meeting at BHASVIC Sports Café.

7.30pm, Thursday 14 June – HEG Branch  members’ meeting with discussion, at Church of the Annunciation, Washington Street.

7.30pm, Thursday 21 JuneHollingdean & Stanmer Labour members’ meeting at City Gate, with a discussion on patriotism led by Jerry Gould.

Saturday 23 JunePavilion Women’s, Youth and Disabled Members’ Forums all meeting at Community Base.

7pm – 9pm, Tuesday 26 June – B&H BAME Labour Forum  at 11 Dorset Street, Brighton BN2 1WA.  Light refreshments available.

7.45pm, Tuesday 26 JuneWithdean Labour members’ meeting, discussing sexual harassment with Diana Leach of UNISON Brighton & Hove at The Barn, Westdene.

Friday 29 June – deadline for the third round of submissions to the Labour Party Democracy Review.

10.30am, Saturday 30 JunePatcham Labour members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

2pm, Sunday 1 July – Pavilion Branch Officers Forum at Community Base

6.30pm, Tuesday 3 JulySPNL Branch members’ meeting.

7.30pm, Thursday 5 JulyRegency Labour members’ meeting.

Saturday 7 July – Pavilion Labour July Campaign Day

8pm, Tuesday 17 JulyPreston Park Labour members’ meeting to shortlist Labour’s candidates for Preston Park ward for the 2019 elections to Brighton & Hove City Council.

Wednesday 18 JulyHollingdean & Stanmer Labour members’ meeting, to shortlist Labour’s candidates for Hollingdean & Stanmer ward for the 2019 elections to Brighton & Hove City Council. 

8pm, Tuesday 24 JulyPreston Park Labour members’ meeting to select Labour’s candidates for Preston Park ward for the 2019 elections to Brighton & Hove City Council.

Thursday 26 JulyWithdean Labour members’ meetings at The Barn, Westdene, to shortlist and select Labour’s candidates for Withdean ward for the 2019 elections to Brighton & Hove City Council.

7.30pm, Thursday 26 JulyPatcham Labour members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

7pm – 9pm, Tuesday 31 July – B&H BAME Labour Forum  at 11 Dorset Street, Brighton BN2 1WA.  Light refreshments available.

Saturday 4 August – Pavilion Labour August Campaign Day

Saturday 1 September – Pavilion Labour September Campaign Day

7.30pm, Tuesday 4 SeptemberRegency Labour members’ meeting.

10.30am, Saturday 8 SeptemberPreston Park Labour members’ meeting.

7.30pm, Thursday 27 September Patcham Labour members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

Saturday 6 October – Pavilion Labour October Campaign Day

7.30pm, Tuesday 9 OctoberRegency Labour members’ meeting.

8pm, Sunday 14 OctoberPreston Park Labour AGM – members’ meeting.

10.30am, Saturday 27 OctoberPatcham Labour AGM – members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

7.30pm, Thursday 1 NovemberRegency Labour members’ meeting.

Saturday 3 November – Pavilion Labour November Campaign Day

8pm, Thursday 22 NovemberPreston Park Labour members’ meeting.

10.30am, Saturday 24 NovemberPatcham Labour members’ meeting at Old Boat Community Centre, Carden Hill BN1 8GN.

Saturday 1 December – Pavilion Labour December Campaign Day

Wednesday 19 DecemberPatcham Labour social (tbc).

2018 calendar:

Campaign Saturdays: 2 June, 7 July, 4 August, 1 September, 6 October, 3 November, 1 December.

In addition, the Local Campaign Forum (LCF) will be organising extra campaign days on 16 June, 14 July, 18 August, 22 September, 20 October, 17 November, 15 December.

GC meetings: Saturday 9 June, Thursday 12 July, Thursday 6 September, Saturday 13 October, Thursday 8 November, Saturday 8 December (AGM).  The first GC meeting in 2019 is expected to be on Saturday 12 January and an early 2019 GC meeting will be asked to approve a calendar of meetings for that year, which will then appear here.

Timings shown include the policy discussions which usually precede the start of the formal GC meeting.  Saturday GCs will normally run from 11.30am – 1.30pm and Thursday GCs will run from 7.30pm – 9.30pm, but delegates should always check the papers circulated for the start time of each meeting.

EC meetings: Tuesday 29 May, Monday 2 July, Tuesday 28 August (tbc), Monday 1 October, Monday 29 October, Monday 26 November.  EC meetings normally run from 7pm – 9pm.

Business deadlines for branches and affiliates to table items at the GC: 11am on Saturday 26 May, Thursday 28 June, Thursday 23 August, Saturday 29 September, Thursday 25 October, Saturday 24 November.

Advertisements